VFDA is working with the Vermont Truck and Bus Association and the DMV on changing the way we apply for overweight permits for delivery trucks.
As a reminder, if you have a delivery truck anywhere other than the interstate, state highways, or class 1 Town Highways, you most likely need a permit. Right now this is done by each individual town. Since most town roads are limited to 24,000 pounds, every fuel company should determine which towns they need to apply.
Fuel trucks can get an exemption for $5 (or $10 for an entire fleet) through an annual permit. These permits must be filed before March 31 every year in every town that requires them. If you don’t have a permit, you could be liable for thousands of dollars in fines.
for a list of towns that require permitting.
to know where to apply.
for a permit template.
Some towns have a slightly different fee structure. The Addison County Sheriff coordinates all Addison County town permits for an additional fee of $60. This permitting is NOT related to ‘mud season’ or special closures of specific roads. However, having a municipal permit in the truck can save thousands of dollars. An 80,000 vehicle on a 24,000 pound road could receive a ticket in excess of $4,300, plus court costs and legal expenses.
VFDA and others have proposed eliminating permit requirements for trucks weighing up to 80,000 pounds on paved Class 2 town highways. The Vermont Department of Motor Vehicles would prefer to conduct an analysis first to determine whether this policy would work on all Class 2 roads. Nearly all agree that the current way of permitting trucks over 24,000 pounds is antiquated and needs to be reformed in order to provide more accountability and fairness.